ORLANDO, FL — Early this morning, photos of an uncut sheet of Rivals of Ixalan were leaked on imgur.
We contacted the leaker for an exclusive close-up glimpse of some of the new cards, seen below. More to come as this story develops.
ORLANDO, FL — Early this morning, photos of an uncut sheet of Rivals of Ixalan were leaked on imgur.
We contacted the leaker for an exclusive close-up glimpse of some of the new cards, seen below. More to come as this story develops.
Welcome back to our regular series Judge’s Corner, where we answer your Magic: the Gathering rules questions.
Q: I suspect that my opponent is cheating. What should I do?
A: If you think he’s cheating, here is what you should do: 1) identify your feelings; 2) tell him about your feelings; 3) take note of his reaction; 4) try to obtain physical evidence; 5) ask for the respect of honesty; 6) set boundaries for your self-care.
Q: How does the Undying ability on Geralf’s Messenger work?
A: When Geralf’s Messenger dies, if it didn’t already have a +1/+1 counter on it, it returns to the battlefield under its owner’s control and gains a +1/+1 counter. Since Geralf’s Messenger is a zombie, we can assume that it has already died before the card was printed; therefore, it is already on the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter by the time you start the game. The “target opponent loses 2 life” effect won’t apply at this time, since none of the players in the current game were your opponent at the time that Geralf’s Messenger entered the battlefield. Since Dark Ascension was printed five years ago, it is safe to assume that Geralf’s Messenger is untapped by the time the game starts.
Q: I’ve occasionally seen cards that tell me to put “counters” on my cards. What should I use for counters?
A: This depends on the type of counter called for:
+1/+1 counters represent an increase in physical strength. We recommend pomegranate seeds, acorns, or nibs of dark chocolate.
-1/-1 counters are a symbol of weakness; lemon drops, periwinkle shells, or shards of glass are more appropriate.
Poison counters are best represented by dried flowers, a lock of hair, or a lie whispered into a lover’s ear.
Q: My friend targeted my Yavimaya Barbarian and my Raging Goblin with Dead Ringers. I didn’t think either creature would be destroyed but my friend insisted that they were. Are they right?
A: Yes, your friend is correct. As the controller of the Dead Ringers, your friend makes all choices associated with the spell, including which of the two targeted creatures is the “either one” referred to in the card text; since Raging Goblin is not a color that Yavimaya Barbarian isn’t, they both are destroyed.
Q: Can I challenge a judge’s ruling?
A: Yes! To challenge a judge’s ruling you must play a Magic subgame versus their “Judge Deck.” Beware: the higher the level of the judge, the more powerful the spells in their deck!
Submit your questions to @goodgamery on Twitter using #judgescorner.
Kim Jong Un, Supreme leader of North Korea, has issued the following press statement:
“I have designed and tested a glorious and unstoppable new combo, which the senile judge Sheldon Menery will be helpless to defeat. It is so simple a child could win with it, but so brilliant and intricate that only a living god could bring it to fruition! I have chosen as my commander the legendary Phelddagrif, a true democratic people’s champion. Phelddagrif allows me to assemble a powerful combination of tutors, draw spells, and ramp effects to bring the full and terrible power of my combo to bear!
“Allow me, briefly, to explain its full potential: The heart of the combination is this majestic Korean foil Triskelion, in gem mint condition. See how it catches the light. After the Triskelion has been summoned, I will then cast this Chinese foil Doubling Season. Also gem mint, and protected by a full three layers of sleeves! The final piece of the combo is this Russian Rite of Passage. It is not foil, but even now I have a literal army scouring the finest shops in the glorious People’s Republic for a foil one.
“You see, with all these pieces laid out, I have fully assembled a winning position! Very soon I expect to use this devastating combo in a real game, for the highest stakes imaginable! Sheldon, the feckless dotard, might try to stop me with his beloved Krosan Grip, but look!”
At this, The Korean leader turned over his deck to reveal a Privileged Position, altered to show him riding a dragon while laying waste to what appeared to be Wizards of the Coast headquarters. “The incredible power of these cards was immediately evident to me, and when I was able to secure the Russian and Chinese cards from sources which will for now remain anonymous, I knew then that my destiny was before me!”
The EDH rules committee says they have no plans to ban Triskelion, Doubling Season, or Rite of Passage; but reminds players that Commander is a casual format and individual playgroups may ban or unban cards as they wish.
Welcome back to our regular series Judge’s Corner, where we answer your Magic: the Gathering rules questions.
Q: I cast Mind Rot on my opponent, but they have no cards in hand. What happens?
A: This is covered by Rule 609.3: “If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does as much as possible.” For your opponent to be able to discard two cards, they must have two cards in hand, so they must first draw two cards, then discard them. If your opponent has fewer than two cards left in their library, they lose the game (see Rule 104.3c).
Q: I was about to attack my opponent for 300 damage, but then rather than allow me to attack he just conceded. This is no fun! What can I do about it?
A: This is an issue that Wizards is aware of and is working to resolve. In the meantime, we have issued an emergency ruling that allows you transfer over the 300 damage you would’ve done to the next game.
Q: I was mana weaving my deck before a match (I always also riffle shuffle it three times, the mana weaving just makes me feel luckier) and my opponent called me a cheater. What should I do when this happens?
A: Call a judge immediately. Players are not allowed to insult their opponents by calling them names: this is an example of Unsporting Conduct – Major.
Q: My opponent has a Dark Confidant on the battlefield. During his upkeep, he reveals an extra card, but forgets to mark his life total down. After I point it out to him during the following turn, he claims it’s too late because it’s a “missed trigger.” My question is: what the heck is that?
A: Missed triggers happen when one or more players forget to precede their game actions with what we call “trigger warnings.” It is the responsibility of each player to maintain the game state, so if you realize a game action will cause a trigger, warn your opponents so that they can choose to stop reading their card before the trigger occurs.
Q: In a multiplayer game, an opponent and I both activate Mindslaver targeting a third player. Who controls that player’s next turn?
A: You both do. Please refer to the Two-Headed Giant rules.
Submit your questions to @goodgamery on Twitter using #judgescorner.
Magic Online has always been a source of great stories. Many named players on the Pro Tour got their start online, as well as many new players who use Magic Online as their starting point on a long journey to become the Multiverse’s greatest Planeswalker. However, often times cards work somewhat differently online as compared to their paper counterparts.
From the Vault: Magic: the Gathering: Online is a collection of fifteen hallmark cards from Magic Online’s rich history, brought to life on paper cards with updated rules text and art to bring the questionably great experience of playing online to the offline world. Now you can play these iconic cards as the programmers designed, without having to look up online-specific errata.
Welcome back to our regular series Judge’s Corner, where we answer your Magic: the Gathering rules questions.
Q: Can players decide the outcome of a tournament match by playing another game, such as Hearthstone?
A: A match cannot be determined by a random method.
Q: I saw a Mox Ruby the other day, and the type line says “Mono Artifact.” What does that mean?
A: It means that Mox Ruby is restricted in Vintage.
Q: What does “Until end of turn” mean?
A: Turning a magic card is called “tapping.” So “until end of turn” lasts as long as it takes to turn a card 90 degrees.
Q: The Eldritch Moon card Providence says that I may reveal it from my “opening hand” to make my life total 26. What is my “opening hand”?
A: Pretend that you are unscrewing a pickle jar. One of your hands naturally holds the jar and the other turns the lid. The one turning the lid is your opening hand.
Q: If there are no cards in either player’s graveyard, and I want to kill my opponent’s Tarmogoyf with a Blaze, what should X be?
A: X should be silver, indicating that your Blaze is an uncommon card from Tenth Edition.
Submit your questions to @goodgamery on Twitter using #judgescorner.
Controversy is growing this week as more and more zombies are remaining on the ground during the traditional Hymn. We reached out to well known Necromancer and member of the Gatewatch, Liliana Vess:
“I am absolutely disgusted at this behavior. These mindless freaks don’t seem to appreciate all the empires that have fallen because of the Hymn. It is incredibly disrespectful for them to just drag themselves around looking for delicious brains while Hymn To Tourach is on the stack. It was bad enough before when they just refused to block, but this is the last straw. I am strongly considering replacing all of my Gravecrawlers with skeletons or ghosts if this continues.”
Gravecrawler first began his career six years ago. A strong showing as a rookie tapered off when his set rotated out of standard, and he has spent a lot of time on the bench in the last few seasons. Many fans are skeptical of the protest, saying it’s just a stunt for the fading star to try to reclaim the spotlight, however briefly. The prevailing opinion seems to be that Gravecrawler just doesn’t have the numbers to deserve a spot in any competitive decklists.
Gisa Cecani, a ghoulcaller from the plane of Innistrad, had a different view on the matter. “You have to understand, the Hymn doesn’t mean the same thing to Gravecrawlers that it does to us necromancers. Historically, Gravecrawlers have been the victims of discard, very often at the hands of people they thought they could trust. That’s something the average Lord of The Undead has never experienced. And it’s not like the Gravecrawlers are hurting anyone. They still do their job, attacking for two every turn, no matter how many times they get tackled.”
The Hymn To Tourach has a storied history, seeing play in many formats for as long as it has existed. A perennial favorite of Necromancers and Demonologists alike, it has until now demanded a great deal of respect. But recent criticism of randomness in Magic has set off a gravestorm of controversy, and it looks like the Hymn has taken the brunt of the abuse.
At a recent Legacy Grand Prix, an entire playset of Gravecrawlers took to the battlefield during a feature match, and not a single one of them stood for the Hymn. Players seem to be taking the controversy in stride, but fans are outraged, especially Liliana.
“Look. I would totally stop keeping watch over this if I could. But I took an oath. And, for as long as it’s convenient to me personally, I will take that oath seriously.”
Jace Beleren, an associate of Miss Vess; and Vraska the Unseen, another planeswalker familiar with Zombies, were mysteriously unable to be reached for comment.
When we finally tracked down a Gravecrawler and questioned him about his refusal to stand, he only had this to say: “This was never about the Hymn. I don’t have any legs.”
Pro MTG Online #258
Welcome back to our weekly series Judge’s Corner, where we answer your Magic: the Gathering rules questions.
Q: Can I regenerate Masticore after my opponent targets it with Pillage?
A: Yes. The effect “it can’t be regenerated” only applies when Pillage resolves; while Pillage is on the stack you can still pay (2) to activate Masticore’s ability and give it a regeneration shield.
Q: Does Unexpectedly Absent for 0 work?
A: Yes, but only if the library has no cards in it. When you’re counting off from the top of the library, you start at the first card, so there can only be a zeroth card to put the permanent under if the library is empty.
Q: I’ve read that if you have a Doubling Season in play and then play a Vivid Crag, the charge counters don’t get doubled. That seems very confusing to me. Can you explain why this is?
A: Doubling Season says, “if an effect would place one or more counters on a permanent you control, it places twice that many of those counters on that permanent instead.” But when you put your Vivid Crag into play it’s not an effect that places counters on the land; it’s you that places counters on the land.
Q: Relentless Rats is my favorite card. I’ve worked hard to collect a lot of them. Last week I brought my deck of Swamps and Relentless Rats to FNM only to have judge tell me that my deck wasn’t legal because Relentless Rats aren’t in Standard. But it says right there on the card that a deck can have any number of Relentless Rats! What gives?
A: In general the rules text of a permanent card (such as the sentence “a deck can have any number of cards named Relentless Rats” on Relentless Rats) only functions while that card is in on the battlefield. Thus your deck is legal as long as you have a Relentless Rats on the battlefield, but when you start the game you don’t have any Rats on the battlefield and your deck is not legal. The judge made the right call.
Q: I am at 1 life and my opponent is at 3 life. I tap my City of Brass to cast Lightning Bolt targeting my opponent. Do I die or does my opponent?
A: Dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.” Since you are players and not creatures, neither player dies.
Submit your questions to @goodgamery on Twitter using #judgescorner.
Pro MTG Online #257